On a business meeting of the 28th Annual Conference, which was conducted on February 17-18, 2020 at Ethiopian Skylight Hotel here in Addis Ababa, the Ethiopian Society of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ESOG) elected Mekdes Daba, MD, MPH, as its new president. Dr. Mekdes replaced Delayehu Bekele, MD, MPH, who has helmed the Society for two years.

ESOG has also replaced its outgoing board members who have finished their two-term service. Dr. Mahlet Yigeremu and Dr. Shiferaw Negash have served for two terms two years each. Dr. Munir Kassa has also finished a term. The outgoing members are replaced by Dr. Dawit Worku, Dr. Rahel Demissew, and Dr. Abdu Mengesha.

The general assembly has also elected Dr. Fikremelekot Temesgen, who has served as a board member for two years, as its vice president. Dr. Malede Birara, who also has served the board as a member is now elected as an Honorary Secretary.

As per its constitution, ESOG elects its board members every two years. One term is for two years and each board member can serve for a maximum of two terms.